Aside

Hi everyone, I just finished watching this video made by Scott McLeod. As I was watching this I started to feel a bit anxious about what the future will be like especially in regards to education and learning. Some of the issues presented here are a little scary, for example, “We are currently preparing students for jobs that don’t yet exist.. using technologies that haven’t been invented… in order to solve problems we don’t even know our problems yet”.  How do we prepare ourselves and our students for this new life?

It’s hard for me to imagine such a world, won’t it be a sad day when absolutely everything we do is tied to technology? Don’t get me wrong, I realize the opportunities that technology has given us, and it most defiantly has several benefits, I also realize that no matter how people feel about it, this will be our future.

Many people ask when the line should be drawn when using technology in the classroom, this video makes me think that this question isn’t relevant anymore- we should be requiring the use of technology in almost everything we do in our class, so that our students are well prepared for the future.

The future?

Leave a comment