Week 1 is done!

Standard

Hi everyone, so I just finished week 1 out of 3 of my pre-internship and I am already beat! I knew this was going to be a lot of work, but I didn’t realize that it would be so much. From the moment I woke up to the moment I went to bed last week, I was either teaching, observing, or planning. Even when it was time to go to bed, I couldn’t get to sleep; I would just lay there thinking about what had happened that day, and then go through the next days lessons, making sure I remembered everything. It was horrible,I haven’t slept that poorly in so long! I am only going into my second week and I can already see how easy it would be to get teacher “burnout”. Don’t get me wrong, I am learning a lot, and I really do enjoy the kids, I just feel so worn out already, I am already catching myself thinking “Is this really what I want to do?” “Can I really handle all this work”? and “WHEN DOES IT GET BETTER”? We are always warned that the first year or two of teaching can be very stressful and time consuming,  but just how BAD is the first year or two? and does it really ever get better? 

Someone please enlighten me:) I would appreciate some tips on planning because I feel like it takes me way to long to do it!

Thanks everyone!

 

 

2 responses »

  1. I heard a teacher tell another teacher today, “If you’re already stressed out in your pre internship, then this is not the profession for you”.
    AHHH!!
    What do you think? Is it normal to feel a little stressed during pre internship? – I’ve got to say this week has been a lot better for me than last week, but I still feel a “tad” stressed.
    A teacher also told me that if we aren’t feeling “stretched” or challenged during this pre-internship, we probably aren’t learning that much.

  2. So only 2 more days left for pre-internship. It has gone by quickly, and my “stress” management has gotten much better! I will be sad to leave the students here.

Leave a Reply

